The Grass Isn’t Always Greener on the Other Side.. Is It?

Image

Hey Guys..

So the past few days I’ve learnt that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. This is a widely known quote and near enough everybody has experienced it, whether it be in a serious situation or something not so serious. It could be a situation that determines what happens in the future, or simply can determine the emotions in which you’ll feel. Now, I haven’t as such ‘learnt the quote’ these past few days, I’ve experienced it for the worst and I now understand what it  means. In my experience I can say that I wished for a situation to happen;  I looked over to the ‘other side’ (representing the picture) and convinced myself that it would be a brilliant thing for me personally, however I did not take into account the feelings of others and I showed my selfishness to the extreme. Now I am forced to say the word ‘unfortunately’ where as before I believed that the outcome would be perfect and that I would be happy and all my problems would be gone.  Unfortunately the situation I hoped to happen for so long, happened and now I have realised that it was the worst thing that could happen for me and my family.

My mum and her boyfriend have been together for just over a year. It’s not the fact that I don’t want anyone to have to share MY mum with me.. it’s the fact that a sequence of events involving Terry’s son, Jack (Terry being my mums boyfriend)  last December lead to my depression. She stuck by him and his monster of a son was still apart of my life up until months later. Even so, they were still together and it killed me and has done ever since. Anyway, I hate Terry. Hate is a strong word and is not used by me ever, except to describe how I feel about this man that has invaded my family. Terry treats me like utter dirt, I sink off to my room when he’s around. He literally gets me in to trouble with my mum, he winds me up until the point where I shout at him, though I am the one to suffer. He has caused me distress and discomfort. Anyway, i have hoped for so long that he’d leave and they would break up, meaning I got my loving family back. They broke up the other day, yet it changed for the worst and not the better. My mum is destroyed. She’s so upset. And I wished for this to happen, I thought everything would be better when he left, but nope. Oh how I was so wrong. This is where the quote came in, the grass is not greener on the other side despite how you think it may be. Sometimes things are different. But in this case, I was selfish and wrong, I thought everything would be perfect. but it wasn’t. 

Never wish for anything to happen that could possibly change from your idea of perfect to a situation you regret. The grass isn’t greener on the other side, so don’t go looking for somewhere better when your problem could easily be resolved on your side. 

Love Charlotte xxx

Leave a Reply

